View Navigation View Search

Suggestions open for the ACT federal redistribution

The AEC today invited members of the public to submit written suggestions about the redistribution of federal electoral divisions in the ACT.

The Chair of the Redistribution Committee for the ACT (the Committee) and Australian Electoral Commissioner, Tom Rogers said recent population and enrolment growth in areas of the ACT would see significant changes to existing boundaries.

“The increase in the ACT’s entitlement from two to three members of parliament means there will be significant boundary changes to ensure all divisions meet strict numerical criteria,” Mr Rogers said.

"In addition to numerical requirements, the Committee will consider communities of interest, means of travel and physical features of proposed divisions.”

Suggestions may refer to the names of electoral divisions, their geographical boundaries or a combination of both these elements.

The Committee will continue its consultation process by making all suggestions received available for public inspection from Monday 27 November. The public will then have until 6pm AEDT on Friday 8 December 2017 to lodge written comments on suggestions.

Click here to submit a suggestion

To Home